Should this be possible?

April 18, 2007 at 8:06 am | Posted in Entertaining | Leave a comment

I have often wondered if Microsoft was sending me subtle messages through my operating system, enticing me to waste time skimming MSN, or to buy the next version of Windows.

Now, there is free subliminal messaging software online, with which you can program yourself to do all sorts of things. Or, rather, you tell the software what you’d like to accomplish, and it brainwashes you to achieve your goals.

This doesn’t seem like a good idea to me. It seems to me that most of the free things on the Internet are loaded with advertisements. If something is subliminal, it means it isn’t visible to the naked eye, which leads me to believe that anything is possible. What if I start trying to subliminally program myself to work more efficiently, but instead I find myself craving herbal supplements and cheap, cheap airfare? Next thing I know I’ll be on a $59 flight to Bogota, where I can buy discount pharmaceuticals and invest some money in a private fund in which I am certain to become a millionaire as soon as someone in Africa can properly collect his inheritance.

I think the Internet does enough ‘programming’ of my brain as it is. 

TrackBack URI

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

