Tip for iTunes

July 23, 2007 at 1:35 pm | Posted in Entertaining, Technical | Leave a comment

I really like the idea of using my home computer as a server, and accessing it from afar when needed.  One of the main reasons I’d like to do that is so I can access my media from afar. It is really a pain to have multiple copies of music and podcasts spread all over my family’s computers, laptop, and palmtop.

Today I stumbled across a very cool solution.  I think I really like the SimplifyMedia idea. Essentially, what SimplifyMedia does is stream content, and allow you to access your content and share it with selected friends. It doesn’t work with any other type of file, but you can stream music files remotely via the Internet and listen to them. It’s a legal way to share your music, because it limits the transfer to streaming only, and you are only allowed to share with 30 friends of your choice. 

They don’t have a Vista version yet, so I will have to wait before I can try it out on the monster PC at home; but I thought all you XP and Mac users might enjoy this.  It’s an especially nice way to add another dimension to your online life with far-off friends and family, as a compliment to your photo sharing, blogging, and social networking sites.

I loaded it up on my laptop with no trouble, and it seems to work fine on XP SP2. There are some rumors that the beta has conflicts with some VPN software and the occasional storage device. Keep in mind it’s still a beta release, so a little caution is probably in order. I haven’t had any problems so far, but it’s only been a couple of days.

The way SimplifyMedia pays the bills is pretty cool, actually. It’s freeware, to a certain degree. If your friends like your music, SM functions in conjunction with iTunes to sell them a download from the iTunes store. As far as I can tell, the software is free of malicious rootkits and spyware; I haven’t noticed any performance changes at all since loading it, and a few other techie bloggers concur.

TrackBack URI

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

