RFID in your own hands

November 27, 2007 at 9:36 am | Posted in News, RFID | Leave a comment

Samsung has announced a very cool RFID reader consumers can use inside a mobile device! This is what I’ve been waiting for; something that might someday make shopping in a store easier. The reason I shop online is that I want specifications and comparisons at my fingertips, and I don’t want to have to ask a pushy salesperson for information. I hope that in the future I’ll be able to pull data from objects’ RFID tags before making a purchase. I realize that’s a long way off, but a girl can hope!

“We are enabling anytime, anywhere mobile access to information,” said Dr. Chilhee Chung, senior vice president of Samsung Electronics’ System LSI division, in a press release. “RFID chip reader systems allow consumers to pull context-specific information into their mobile devices while on the go. Our mobile RFID single-chip technology is an important step in the evolution of ubiquitous computing environments.”

TrackBack URI

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

